The Latest

From The University of Houston College of Optometry

UHCO & Mayor's Back to School Fest

This past weekend, August 15, UHCO was part of the 5th Annual Mayor’s Back to School Fest at the University of Houston. The function provides Houston area students with some of the tools they need to start the school year off right. Houston Mayor, Annise Parker, welcomed approx. 25,000 students, grades K-5, and their parents for the event. Pre-Registered students received a backpack with necessary school supplies. Everyone in attendance visited information tables, receive immunizations, and health/vision screenings, among various other services. 

Read More

Earl L. Smith III, returns as UHCO Dean

Since October 2013, Earl L. Smith III, O.D., Ph.D.,'72. ’78, has served as the Interim Chief Health Officer for the University of Houston, where he focused on identifying opportunities for expanding the university’s academic health care portfolio, developing a plan to enhance health care services and establishing the programmatic components for the new Health and Biomedical Sciences Building II (HBSB II) currently under construction. Dr. Smith returns from this interim appointment to resume the deanship at UHCO effective August 1, 2015. Roger Boltz, O.D., Ph.D.,'72, ’78, served as UHCO’s Interim Dean and Chief Executive Officer during Dr. Smith’s appointment, which allowed Dr. Smith to address the ambitious goals set forth by UH President Renu Khator. 

Read More

UHCO Mourns the loss of a Visionary and Friend

Dr. Brien Holden (1942-2015)

UHCO is saddened to announce the passing of our dear friend and colleague, Brien Holden, PhD, DSc, FAAO on July, 27, 2015 in Sydney Australia, and we extend our condolences to the family.

A passionate humanitarian with global view, Dr. Holden served as CEO of the Brien Holden Vision Institute and Professor at the School of Optometry at UNSW Australia. His life’s work was service…to the scientific community, to the health care community and to individuals in need of vision care regardless of their geographic location or their financial limitations.

Read More

View All News
© 2015 University of Houston. All rights reserved