About Our College | College News & Events

2018 TOA Awards

About the UHCO Award Recipients

Deakins McCreight, a 2010 graduate, is an assistant professor is to co-director of Community Eye Clinic in Fort Worth which is a partnership between UIWRSO and UHCO. She serves on the Board of Trustees for the Texas Optometric Association and is active in Grassroots and Legislative efforts. Dr. Deakins has presented continuing education on Neuroimaging, B Scan Technology, and Retina Vascular Complications. She is a Diplomate of the American Board of Optometry and a candidate for Fellowship in the American Academy of Optometry.

Gee, a 2002 graduate, is an assistant clinical professor and serves as director of the University Eye Institute’s Sports Vision Performance Center. A nationally renowned lecturer in sports vision, Gee served in numerous positions within TOA before becoming the association’s 2013-14 president. He also serves as the vision consultant for the Houston Astros. Additionally, Dr. Gee serves as on the Board of Directors with the Texas Optometric Association and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Optometry.

George, a 1981 graduate, is a clinical associate professor aat UHCO. George has been involved in Houston and statewide politics most of her adult life, earning her the Pittman award (2013), named for a longtime advocacy leader in the TOA. 

Krouch, a 2009 graduate, is clinical faculty for a Dallas-based indigent community clinic called Cedar Springs Eye Care where she works with 4th year extern students.  Dr. Kruoch is also a Fellow of the American Acacdemy of Optometry.  Her clinical interests include specialty contact lens and ocular disease.

Terrell, a 2003 graduate, is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the Rosenberg School of Optometry at the University of the Incarnate Word (UIWRSO). She serves in the capacity of co-director of the Community Eye Clinic in Fort Worth, Texas, which is a partnership between UIWRSO and UHCO. Dr. Terrell is a member of the American Optometric Association, the Texas Optometric Association, and the Tarrant County Optometric Society, and she is also a Diplomate of the American Board of Optometry.

About the Texas Optometric Association
The purpose of the TOA shall be to care for, and to improve, the visual welfare of all Texans by uniting Texas optometrists; by improving the art and science of optometry; by elevating unceasingly the ethical standards of the optometric profession; by protecting the right of freedom of choice in choosing one’s health care providers; by urging the passage and the enforcement of laws that prevent those who are not trained, qualified, and licensed from practicing optometry, or any part thereof; and by coordinating efforts with other health care professions to achieve common goals.