About Our College | College News & Events

Two UHCO Alumnae to receive awards at Academy

Posted On: 07/21/2016

Moore received the Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics for her paper, Spherical Soft Contact Lens Designs and Peripheral Defocus in Myopic Eyes. This award is given to an individual who submits a first-authored original research paper. The paper must reflect research performed while the student was pursuing the Doctor of Optometry degree.

Moore was part of several peer-reviewed abstracts and publications with David A Berntsen, OD ’02, PhD, FAAO, while completing her OD/MS degree at UHCO. She also participated in the summer research program under Dr. Berntsen. Moore was a member of several UHCO student organizations during her tenure including: the Student Texas Optometric Association, the American Optometric Student Association, the American Academy of Optometry and a member of the Beta Sigma Kappa Honor Society.  

Julius Neumueller, Professor Emeritus of Physical and Geometrical Optics, at Pennsylvania College of Optometry for his love of optics and desire to sustain the subject, established the Julius F. Neumueller Award in 1969. He established a trust to award an undergraduate student who submits the paper judged best by the committee on an optics related topic.

Patel received the Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award, which recognizes an outstanding young scientist, or clinician scientist, who has shown exceptional promise to conduct independent research directly related to etiology, prevention, detection, diagnosis, or management of clinical ocular disorders.

Patel graduated from the Southern College of Optometry, in 2002, after which he completed a residency in Family Practice at Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry (NSUOCO). After completing the residency program, he taught at NSUOCO, teaching in both the classroom and clinical settings. In 2007, Nimesh came to the University of Houston to pursue a graduate degree in vision science. He completed his PhD program in 2012 and been on faculty at UHCO since. His current research is on improving structural measures of the optic nerve, retinal nerve fiber layer and macula regions using optical coherence tomography, and investigating the relationship between these structural measures and visual function. He also teaches students in the laboratory and clinical settings.

The Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award, established in 1996, for Dr. Irvin M. Borish who was considered the “Father of Clinical Optometry,” according to the American Optometric Association. He served as a practitioner, teacher and researcher throughout his illustrious career at UHCO and Indiana University. Borish wrote hundreds of articles, served as a visiting professor to numerous optometry schools, and patented five types of contact lenses.

Award winners will be recognized at the 2016 American Academy of Optometry Awards Ceremony in Anaheim, California on Friday, November 11, in the Anaheim Convention Center. Congratulations, Dr. Kelly Moore and Dr. Nimesh Patel.