About Our College | College News & Events

The Latest

From The University of Houston College of Optometry

UHCO Research Receives Grant Funding
July 25, 2019
UHCO Research Receives Grant Funding
Fight for Sight, a nonprofit supporting eye and vision research, recently announced their 2019 grant recipients. Three of UHCO’s own were named: Nicole Karson, OPT III, OD/MS student; Apoorva Karsolia, PhD student; and Samuel Adade, PhD candidate, all received support for their research projects.
Nicole has been working with Wendy Harrison, OD, PhD, doing research on diabetic retinopathy. Apoorva and Samuel work in Vallabh Das, PhD’s lab, whose focus is to better understanding the neural mechanisms that are affected in the different forms of strabismus     in order to develop rationally based therapies.
Congratulations to all three!
About Fight for Sight
Fight for Sight (FFS) was founded in 1946 by Mildred Weisenfeld, who lost her vision to retinitis pigmentosa, to promote awareness and funding for eye research. FFS invests in the future of eye and vision research by funding promising scientists early in their careers. They have provided over $20 million in grants to more than 3,000 eye researchers. Support from Fight for Sight has directly or indirectly contributed to numerous major advances in understanding, diagnosis and treatment of eye disease, including development of retinal gene therapy, the intraocular lens (IOL), donor cornea preservation, glaucoma medications and the use of lasers in ophthalmology.
July 17, 2019
UHCO Faculty and Recent Graduate Honored at the American Academy of Optometry
Each year the American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made countless important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry. “Our Academy is only as good as the people we honor. In 2019 we are honoring the best; our best teachers, researchers, clinicians, and rising stars of the future,” remarked John G. Flanagan, PhD, FCOptom, FAAO, Awards Committee Chair.
This year, two UHCO faculty members and a recent graduate from the Class of 2019 are being honored for their contributions, bringing distinction to the college. They will be recognized this October at the joint American Academy of Optometry and World Council of Optometry meeting along with the other honorees.
To see the full list of awards  https://www.aaopt.org/detail/news/2019/07/16/announcing-2019-award-recipients

June 24, 2019
UHCO Faculty Member Receives AOA Educator of the Year Award

The American Optometric Association Optometric Educator of the Year Award recognizes the deserving individual member educator for performance of outstanding services on behalf of the profession, optometric education and to the visual welfare of the public. A distinguished leader and active member of the Texas optometric community, UHCO’s Zanna Krouch, OD was recognized as the AOA Educator of the Year at Optometry’s Meeting held in St. Louis June 13-15, 2019. Honored as the Texas Optometric Association Educator of the Year in 2019, Dr. Kruoch serves as Assistant Clinical Faculty at UHCO’s Cedar Springs Eye Clinic in Dallas, TX, an inner city clinic serving  the vision and advanced medical eye care needs for more than 5,000 patients annually. With the high prevalence of ocular disease in the patients the clinic serves, Dr. Kruoch brings exceptional disease management skills with a special competence in medically necessary contact lenses.

July 2, 2019
UHCO mourns the loss of our friend and colleague, Dr. Judy Perrigin

We mourn the loss of our friend and colleague, Dr. Judy Perrigin, who passed away suddenly on July 1, 2019. Dr. David Perrigin has requested in lieu of flowers, memorial gifts may be made in her memory through the Foundation for Education in Research in Vision, UHCO’s 501c3 organization at https://fervfoundation.org/give-now/.

In the Select Gift Account box chose Gift of Your Choice and in the Specify Gift of Your Choice, type Judy Perrigin. All gifts are tax deductible to the extent of the law and Dr. Dave Perrigin will be notified of your generosity, although the gift amount will remain confidential.

Condolences may be sent to Dr. David Perrigin c/o UHCO, 4901 Calhoun, Houston, TX 77204-2020

Dr. Pat Segu Honored
May 21, 2019
Dr. Pat Segu Honored
Dr. Pat Segu was honored at the See to Succeed Partner Appreciation Luncheon on May 15th, 2019 at City Hall. Under her leadership, the program provides access to high quality eye care for participating children. Since the pilot in 2011, over 71,000 children have been examined and 65,000 pairs of glasses delivered. Dr. Segu upholds the highest standard of optometric care while providing direction to the Houston Health Department’s clinical team. She designed the clinic flow process to expedite patient exams and developed referral procedures, diligently prioritizing the continuum of care for children with serious vision issues. Recognized as the founding medical director for her groundbreaking leadership and for transforming the many lives she has touched through the advancement of childhood vision, Mayor Turner proclaimed May 15th, 2019 as Dr. Pat Segu Day.

Pictured above from left to right: Stephen Williams, Director for the Houston Health Dept., Dr. Segu, Joel Shannon, Board of Director for Houston Health Foundation, Dr. Marc Piccolo, Associate Dean for Professional Advancement & Clinical Education, Executive Director for Surgical Services, UHCO.
Hoppings' Scholarship Adds Cheer to Student's New Beginnings
May 1, 2019
Hoppings' Scholarship Adds Cheer to Student's New Beginnings

With just a week for graduation, Sandra Bui took time out of her extremely busy schedule to meet and thank Drs. Ron Hopping and Desiree Hopping for their generosity in funding a scholarship through their named endowment at UHCO. Bui is not only graduating next week but is getting married immediately after!

"I really appreciate the generosity of the Hoppings and it is an honor to receive this scholarship from two great leaders of our profession. I cannot be more grateful and this is a true blessing," said Bui.

Associate Dean Dr. Laura Frishman Wins Esther Farfel Award
April 19, 2019
Associate Dean Dr. Laura Frishman Wins Esther Farfel Award
The Esther Farfel Award is the highest honor accorded to a University faculty member. The award is a symbol of overall career excellence. Recipients of the Farfel Award must have demonstrated excellence in all areas of faculty responsibility…in particular, their research must have had a significant impact at the national and international levels, they must have demonstrated outstanding teaching ability, and their service to the University, the profession and the community must have been distinctive and exemplary. 

Dr. Laura Frishman, PhD, FAAO, FARVO, John and Rebecca Moores Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research, received the Farfel Award for 2019 at the Faculty Excellence Awards Dinner held on April 18, 2019. This is only the second time that a faculty member in the College of Optometry has received this prestigious University award…..a tremendous and well-deserved…well-earned recognition. 
Delta Gamma Foundation Lectureship in Values and Ethics
April 16, 2019
Delta Gamma Foundation Lectureship in Values and Ethics
Dr. Peggy Ingram and the University of What's Next?
April 2, 2019
Dr. Peggy Ingram and the University of What's Next?
UHCO Represents at TOA Summit
February 20, 2019
UHCO Represents at TOA Summit
99 UHCO students attended the Texas Optometric Association Summit at the Capitol to represent Optometry and bill HB1798!