Future Students & Residents | Academic Programs

College Based Programs

The University of Houston College of Optometry (UHCO) has college sponsored residency programs in Brain Injury Vision Rehabilitation, Cornea and Contact Lens, Family Practice Optometry, Low Vision Rehabilitation, Ocular Disease, and Pediatric Optometry. In addition, a two year MS/Residency program is available. All programs begin in late June.

  • Doctor of Optometry degree from an ACOE accredited school or college of optometry
  • Successful completion of parts I, II and III of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry, including the TMOD
  • A State of Texas Optometry License
  • Preference given to applicants with 3.0 GPA (out of 4.0) or higher
  • The Graduate Record Examination is required for the combined MS/Residency Program
Candidates are evaluated on the basis of clinical and academic competence, interest in program area, recommendations, and interpersonal skills. The University of Houston is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action employer. Minorities, women, veterans and persons with disabilities are encouraged to apply.

The programs have a stipend of $38,000. Benefits include medical insurance, vacation and sick leave, travel stipend, institutional professional liability coverage, and continuing education provided by the University of Houston.


Houston Based Programs University Eye Institute & Other UHCO Clinics

Brain Injury Vision Rehabilitation

Program Director: Kassaundra Johnston, O.D.
Email: kjohnston@central.uh.edu
Phone: 713.743.2005

Learn More About This Program

Low Vision Rehabilitation

Program Coordinator: Swati Modi, O.D., F.A.A.O
Email: scmodi@central.uh.edu
Phone: 713.743.2577

Learn More About This Program

Family Practice Optometry

Program Director: Pat Segu, O.D., F.A.A.O. 
Email: psegu@central.uh.edu
Phone: 713.743.1958

Learn More About This Program

Cornea and Contact Lens

Program Director: Judy Perrigin, O.D.,F.A.A.O
Email: jperrigin@central.uh.edu
Phone: 713.743.1948

Learn More About This Program

Ocular Disease

Program Director: Danica Marrelli, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Email: dmarreli@central.uh.edu
Phone: 713.743.1945

Learn More About This Program

Pediatric Optometry

Program Director: Suzanne Wickum, O.D., F.A.A.O. 
Email: swickum@central.uh.edu
Phone: 713.743.0745

Learn More About This Program

Master of Science Degree/Residency Combined Program

Further Information: Karen Fern, O.D.,F.A.A.O. 
Email: kfern@central.uh.edu
Phone: 713.743.1941

Learn More About This Program

Dallas Based Programs

Ocular Disease (Cedar Springs Eye Clinic)

Program Director: Marcus Gonzales, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Cedar Springs Eye Clinic
Dallas, Texas 75219  

  Telephone: (214) 528-7354 
  E-Mail: mgonzales2@central.uh.edu

Learn More About This Program

Fort Worth Based Programs

Ocular Disease (Community Eye Clinic)

Program Director: Jennifer Deakins, O.D.
Community Eye Clinic
Ft. Worth, Texas 76102 

  Telephone: (817) 289-6800
  E-Mail: jdeakins@central.uh.edu

Learn More About This Program