Current Students | Academic Resources

Golden Brothers Presidential Endowed Fellowship

Dennis D. Golden, OD, '77, was appointed to the UH System Board of Regents in 2004 by Governor Rick Perry, and served as a member of the board through August 2009. For fiscal year 2006, he served as secretary to the board. For fiscal year 2007, he served as chair of the University Advancement Committee and vice chair of the Audit Committee. He is chief of staff of Golden Eye Associates and has been in private practice in Carthage, Texas, since 1978. Dr. Golden has been a member of the board of trustees for Panola College in Carthage for the past 12 years, and has previously held the office of board chairman. He is also a member of the American Optometric Association and the Texas Optometric Association. Dr. Golden served as president of the Texas Optometric Association from 1997-1998, and in 2003 he was named "Optometrist of the Year." He was recently named distinguished alumnus of the College of Optometry for 2004. 

DDavid Dixon Golden, OD, '77, has been practicing in Center, Texas for thirty years. He is a therapeutic and glaucoma specialist and is licensed to practice in Louisiana as well as Texas. Dr. Golden is a member of or has served on the boards of several associations in these past thiry years; Texas Optometry Association, Century Club at UH Alumni Association, Deans Council at UHCO, Sabine Optometric Society and is on staff at Shelby Regional Hospital. He presently serves as Chairman of the Texas Optometry Board and the Vice-chairman of the Center ISD School Board of Trustees. He presently serves on the board of the Foundation for Education and Research in Vision (FERV). Dr. Golden is also an adjunct professor for UHCO. 


  • This scholarship is to fund an incoming OPT I student in the College of Optometry
  • Renewable for up to 4 semesters. 
  • Priority given to those with financial and preference given to those from East Texas. 
  • Recipient must be in good academic standing and meet UHCO eligibility requirements. 
  • Selection is made by the College of Optometry Scholarship Committee. 

Available Documents

  • Currently No Flyer Available