Current Students | Academic Resources

Dr. Desiree Hopping Presidential Endowed Scholarhsip

Desiree Tyer Hopping, O.D., a 1981 graduate of UHCO, has remained a loyal friend to the college and its students since 1981. In 2003, she received the coveted Distinguished Optometry Alumna Award, reserved for individuals that have distinguished themselves in the optometric profession and in·the communities in which they live and work. Among Dr. Hopping's many accomplishments are serving as the Chair of UHCO's 50th Anniversary Committee in 2002-2004, service to FERV in various capacities for a great number of years, including a lengthy service as President, and talcing the annual Eye Open Golf Tournament to new heights in an effort to increase the total number of scholarship awards available to optometry students through the Eye Open Endowment. 

FERV established the Desiree Tyer Hopping PES in 2004 to recognize her numerous accomplishments and years of service to the foundation, the college and the optometric profession. 


  • Fund an incoming OPT I student in the College of Optometry
  • Renewable for up to 8 semesters; recipient must maintain a 3.3 GPA and OAT score of 330. 
  • Criteria based on academic excellence, leadership and involvement in community and school activities. 
  • Funds can be used to cover expenses for tuition, books, fees, and/or supplies for the coming academic semester. Any expenses of a recipient in excess of the amount deposited must be borne by the student. 
  • Selection is made by the College of Optometry Scholarship Committee.

Available Documents

  • Currently No Flyer Available