The life of Dr. J. Davis Armistead, our building's namesake, encompasses broad and significant accomplishments to the country, the optometric profession, the community and higher education.
A veteran of World War II, Dr. Armistead went on to establish a successful optometry practice in Lubbock. A firm believer in the importance of giving back, he served on a variety of civic, professional, service, and business boards and organizations, including membership in the prestigious National Academy of Practice, an advisory group to the U.S. Congress.
A champion and advocate for the profession of optometry, and higher education in Texas, Dr. Armistead's efforts on behalf of UHCO span five decades - from 1952, when the college was established, to the years 1971-1983 when the College of Optometry building was completed during his tenure as a UH System Regent, to the 1990's, when he served the college as President of the Foundation for Education and Research in Vision (FERV), through today as he remains actively involved in the life of the college and the optometric profession.
In September 1993, the UH College of Optometry Building was named the J. Davis Armistead Building in honor and recognition of his tireless and enduring efforts benefiting the college, the university and the profession.
Dr. Armistead and his wife Cora reside in Lubbock.